My Creative Journaling for October 2016

It “heals” me in a way I could convey my feelings through writing and drawing at the same time on a blank canvas. It teaches me patience and temporarily makes me forget I am sad.

I started creative journaling when I transferred to a new job in the same company where I’m currently in and I can’t ignore the fact my separation anxiety triggerred in the first weeks with my new job, missing my first officemates whom I already treated as friends. In order to “heal” my loneliness, I resorted to creative journaling last October of 2016 for the very first time.

It “heals” me in a way I could convey my feelings through writing and drawing at the same time on a blank canvas. It teaches me patience and temporarily makes me forget I am sad.

To prevent writer’s block, a website I use generates random prompts that would decide for my daily journals.

Even though I enjoyed it, my journaling only lasted for a month (my birth month, actually) as I don’t have a proper journal to craft on (I used to craft on my watercolor pad but I realized I need it most for watercolor art works. And I’m running out of pages! 。゚(・´Д`・)゚。)

So before discontinuing, I still worked on creative journaling but in a weekly basis to save my watercolor pages.

You might be wondering why I craft on watercolor pad instead of a blank journal page. It’s because I love watercolor painting! Actually, watercolor pad was my last option but my current financial status can’t afford purchasing a watercolor journal. I also ended up not watercolor painting anymore on my later works. (。´×ω×)

Before wrapping up, I want to share with you the materials I use for my creative journals! Here is the recipe:

  • Your special journal/s (I prefer blank pages but it’s up to you. My dream journal/planner is Hobonichi Techo 2017 but as I said earlier, it’s too expensive for me. Perhaps I’m gonna pick my second favorite, Muji planner for my 2017 adventures!)
  • Black/colored pens 
  • Washi tapes
  • Watercolor
  • Sakura Micron waterproof pen 0.1 or 0.2 (Before, I used Zig Kuretake, but I discovered I am more comfortable with Sakura Micron.)
  • My special mechanical pencil
  • Glue
  • Stickers/stamps
  • And lastly, YOUR MEMORIES.


For 2017, I will continue creative journaling around February or March after I’m financially stable (I’m currently saving up for my one of my big dreams (≧∀≦) and arts supplies are a bit pricey. (TεT)Resuming my creative journals doesn’t mean I still feel sad with my new officemates, but it means they will now be included in my fun adventures! ♥☺

Leave a Reply

